Mint Green Tea

I will be the first to admit that the best thing about Sonic is their happy hour. Recently they’ve added green tea to their menu with different flavors you can add in. One of them is mint and as soon as I saw that on their menu, I immediately ordered a mint green tea. It was amazing!

The only problem is that I can’t afford to constantly drive to a Sonic during their happy hour (or any other time) just to get a mint green tea. I looked online for a mint simple syrup recipe to mix in with some fresh-brewed green tea. The recipe I finally found that I thought would work came from none other than Food Network.

Sunday I went to the grocery store because I desperately needed food as I had been home and not in Auburn for the past month or so. On an impulse I decided to buy a pot and saucer and some mint to grow myself. I don’t have a green thumb, but I’m sure going to try my best in keeping this plant alive and thriving!

DSCN0743

I gathered up my ingredients which are:

  • 7 green tea bags
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup packed mint leaves

DSCN0736

The brown floral tin was my mom’s and I took it when I moved to keep tea bags in. Right now it’s home to Bigelow green tea and Twinings Earl Grey tea. One thing I love about putting my tea bags in the tin is that it takes up less space on the shelf than the boxes and it’s less of an eye sore.

Anyway, first thing you do is take out two pots and fill one with 6 cups of water and bring it to a boil. Once it’s boiling, remove it from the heat and let your seven green tea bags steep for however long you like. I usually leave mine steeping for thirty or more minutes because I tend to forget that I’m making tea (oops!).

DSCN0745

Next you will bring 1 cup of water to boil in a small saucepan. Once it’s boiling, add 1/2 cup of sugar and stir until it’s dissolved. When the sugar is gone, remove the pan from the heat and add 1 cup of packed mint leaves. The first time I made this tea I didn’t quite have 1 cup and instead lightly scraped some of the leaves with a fork to release more of the flavor. This time I made the tea I had plenty of leaves and didn’t scrape them, but the mint flavor is a little more subdued. So whether or not you want a strong mint flavor is up to you! Personally, I enjoy the flavor of mint in my tea and will be scraping the leaves next time.

DSCN0739 DSCN0746

Let the mint and simple syrup mixture cool for about twenty minutes. When you’ve finished allowing the tea to steep, remove the tea bags and pour it into a pitcher of your choice. Next you will take your simple syrup and strain it. I like to use the least amount of dishes as possible so I strain my simple syrup directly into the pitcher.

DSCN0748

Refrigerate and then enjoy a nice, refreshing glass of mint green tea!

DSCN0752

As a nighttime snack I made a yogurt parfait. The great thing about yogurt parfaits is that they’re super simple to make! I put some vanilla Greek yogurt in the bottom of a coffee mug, mainly because I’m running out of bowls. Next I cut up some strawberries and put that on top of the vanilla yogurt. I didn’t have much vanilla yogurt left so I added some honey Greek yogurt on top of the strawberries. Finally I chopped up a peach to top it all off. Get creative with it and add granola or nuts of your choice or maybe some chocolate chips. Easy, delicious, and pretty!

DSCN0754

One thought on “Mint Green Tea

Have something to say?

