Juices Galore

Juicing was a very new concept to me a year ago. I had heard of it but didn’t actually know what it meant or why it was so good. Last November I started working at Earth Fare where I first encountered the famed juicer… and I immediately fell in love. There was just something so fun about watching fruits and vegetables get pulverized to turn into a beautiful, tasty juice.

At the end of November I went on my first Black Friday shopping trip with my friend Taylor. I never imagined myself getting so excited about fighting crowds to buy merchandise at discounted prices, but sure enough I scoured ads in the newspaper to find anything I might need or want. There was a Kohl’s pamphlet in the paper that had a Jack LaLanne juicer on sale with an additional mail-in rebate. Great deal, right? I definitely thought so which led me to buying it.

Juices are a fun and easy way to get the nutrients of multiple fruits and/or vegetables at once. For the past two weeks I have been having a juice in the morning before I go to summer classes and I love it! The juices I made are Fruit Punch with a Twist, Beginner Green, and Wake Up Wowser. The following ingredients are everything you will need for all three juices. As I explain more about the juices, I will list individual recipes.

photo 2

 

  • 5 apples
  • 2 stalks celery
  • ginger root
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 lime
  • 2 1/2 cups spinach
  • 5 oranges
  • 1/2 to 1 cup strawberries
  • 1 pear
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 4 kiwis
  • 1 1/2 cups pineapple

Fruit Punch with a Twist
This will make a lot of juice. All of the juiced ingredients fit into a 24 ounce Tervis Tumbler. For this juice you will need:

  • 2 apples
  • 4 kiwis
  • 1/4 lemon with rind
  • 1/4 lime with rind
  • 2 oranges, peeled (get the skin off, but leave the white pith)
  • 1 1/2 cups pineapple

I like to prep all of my ingredients first and place them into a Ziploc bag in the refrigerator. This way I can just plug in my juicer in the morning and quickly make a juice. No wasted time having to cut everything up!

photo 7

Juice everything and enjoy!

photo 14 photo 16

The picture on the left is the natural separation of the juice that happened while I was cleaning the juicer compartments. The picture on the right is after it has been stirred. Not a very pleasant color, but the flavor is phenomenal! The lime really adds a lot to the juice.

Wake Up Wowser
Once again, this makes a lot of juice that fit into my 24 ounce Tervis Tumbler. The ingredients are:

  • 1 pear
  • 1 apple
  • 2 oranges, peeled (again, just peel the skin and leave the white pith)
  • 1 sweet potato

photo 12

Juice all of the ingredients and enjoy!

photo 26

We have been getting pelted with rain here for the last week and a half, so I had to relish in the beautiful sunny morning Tuesday for a little while. This juice is a bit sweet for my liking from the sweet potato (I bought a large and put a majority of it in the juice) but is tasty nonetheless. You get a nice pear flavor when you first take a sip and then the other flavors start to sink in. Plus the drink is a gorgeous orange color!

Beginner Green
This is easily my favorite juice at the moment. At first I was very unsure about making a juice with spinach because I once made a smoothie with spinach and the flavor was unbearable. In this juice the spinach is barely noticeable with the other flavors you get from the strawberries, apple, and orange. (Note: the original recipe didn’t call for strawberries. I threw them in one morning because they were going bad and it just added another dimension to the juice!)

  • 1 1/2 apple
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1/8 thumb ginger root, peeled
  • 1/4 lemon with rind
  • 2 1/2 cups spinach
  • 1 orange
  • 1/2 to 1 cup strawberries (however much you think you’d like)

photo 4

Juice all the ingredients and enjoy!

photo 17 photo 23

As you can see, this doesn’t make quite as much as the other two juices do. The picture on the left is the natural separation that occurred while I was cleaning the juicer and the picture on the right is after everything has been stirred. (The flash makes it look a bit more brown than it actually is in person.)

If you’re interested in juicing and/or may be a novice, I suggest starting with the Beginner Green as it is, to me, a perfect blend of flavors. If you do juice, but not frequently, you can look up great recipes online or buy The Juicing Bible which is great if you have a hard time thinking of what to juice together like me. There are juices for many health conditions as well as a section on smoothies and roughies, specialty drinks, and frozen treats. It is worth the money for sure! I hope you enjoy these juices as much as I have.

Have something to say?

