Chocolate Chip Cookies

After a hiatus from writing the blog I’m finally back! Taking three classes in a five-week mini semester is pretty stressful and time-consuming.

I came back home for a couple of weeks to relax some before starting the Fall semester. With the relaxation, though, comes the itching to bake and cook! I decided to make my friends some chocolate chip cookies and surprise them at work.

Chocolate chip cookies have always been my go to dessert of choice to give away to people. They’re super simple and most people love them. This recipe was adapted (and tweaked) from The Life of a Southern Housewife because I left my recipe I always use in my apartment.

As usual, the ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1-1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (just eyeball it)

DSCN0794

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

First you will mix the granulated and brown sugars together with the coconut oil until it’s nice and fluffy (as you would if you were using butter).

Add each egg separately and beat the batter in between eggs then mix in the vanilla and molasses. I’ve never put molasses in my chocolate chip cookies before so I was kind of wary about adding it to this batch, but it turned out great!

In a separate bowl you will mix the flour, baking soda, and salt then gradually mix it into your cookie batter. Once that’s all mixed up, add the chocolate chips. You can go crazy and add as many chocolate chips as your heart desires!

DSCN0808

 

If I hadn’t taken my ServSafe exam, I would probably just eat the dough raw. It always looks delicious! You can roll out perfect dough  balls or just haphazardly scoop it onto a baking sheet like I do.

DSCN0810

Once you do that and your oven is preheated, bake the cookies 8-10 minutes. They should turn out irresistible. If you can bear to wait, let them cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes then move them to a cooling rack.

DSCN0815

 

My friends scarfed the cookies down as soon as I brought them over! I hope you enjoy them as much as they did.

Have something to say?

