Chocolate and Banana Quinoa

Pinterest is my Achilles heel when it comes to food. I could literally spend hours on Pinterest looking at recipes for this or that. Almost all of them catch my eye when I’m scrolling down the page. A few weeks ago I found a recipe for chocolate and banana breakfast quinoa (pronounced keen-wah). I know that quinoa has great health benefits but I never imagined eating it for breakfast!

This quinoa recipe changed that. It’s creamy from the banana and the chocolate adds sweetness so you aren’t getting a mostly grainy flavor. There are just a few ingredients in this:

  • 1/2 cup raw quinoa
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • Dash of sea salt
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp. honey
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

photo 1

Bring the water, almond milk, quinoa, and dash of sea salt to a boil in a small pot. Once the liquid is boiling, reduce the heat and let it simmer, stirring occasionally, until all the liquid has been absorbed. Just make sure you watch your pot when it’s boiling. There’s no use in crying over spilled milk, but there is use in freaking out that the milk fell under the burner because you weren’t paying attention to it. (After the burner had cooled, I took the thing under the burner out and scrubbed it for two minutes trying to get cooked milk off. Not fun at all!)

photo 2

While the quinoa was simmering, I went ahead and mashed half of the banana in the bowl I was going to eat out of. You can save the other half of the banana and use it as a garnish or you could eat it later. When the quinoa has absorbed all the liquid, remove from the heat and transfer to the bowl with the mashed banana.

photo 3

photo 4

Add the cocoa powder, honey, and vanilla extract to the bowl and stir until everything is combined.

5

The recipe called to add 1/4 cup of almond milk to the quinoa after everything has been mixed, but mine was still kind of liquidy, so I refrained from adding it.

6

This is a great breakfast food! I don’t eat a lot for breakfast so I had quite a bit left over. My advice is that you give yourself enough time to make this in the morning. Although you could leave the quinoa on the stove simmering while you get ready, you might burn it and that doesn’t taste good at all. I have yet to try the quinoa cold, but you could probably make it the night before and eat it cold or heat it up. This breakfast is one that is sure to keep you full and satisfied until lunch. Enjoy!

Have something to say?

