Thai Peanut Pasta

I’ll be honest, I’ve never had Thai food before. When I came across this recipe on Pinterest (surprise!) I was really intrigued by the pictures. People say you eat with your eyes first and the food looked delicious! There are quite a few ingredients this time but the easiness of the recipe makes up for it.

  • 12oz linguine
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 Tbsp. tamarind paste (alternatively you could mix an equal amount of lime juice, white wine vinegar, or rice vinegar with light brown sugar)
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup roasted salted peanuts
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 inches of ginger root, peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch slices
  • 1 large carrot, cut into rounds (half the larger rounds if you’d like)
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into small pieces
  • 2 limes

1

Place all the ingredients except the limes into a large stockpot.

2

3

Cover the pot and bring the ingredients to a boil. Reduce to a low simmer, leave it covered, and cook for about ten minutes. Be sure to stir every two minutes or so to redistribute the liquid and prevent the pasta from sticking to the bottom of your pot. The stockpot I used tonight is very special to me. It was my grandma’s and I got it when my Papa passed away last year. I never got to know my grandma because she passed away when I was two but I know she had a passion for cooking like I do.

4

Season with salt and pepper to your liking then remove the pieces of ginger. Roll the limes on your counter to help release the juices, cut them in half, and squeeze them over the pasta. Stir and serve! The pasta turns out creamy and nutty from the peanut butter, the red pepper flakes give it a little spiciness, and the red bell peppers, carrots, and peanuts keep it from being a one-texture meal. You could also add some chopped up cilantro for a little extra flavor. I don’t use it often so I refrained from buying any and wasting it.

5

This has probably been the easiest homemade meal I’ve made since being in college… or maybe ever. While the pasta was cooking I washed all my dishes (which was minimal because this is such an easy recipe) and had time to sit down and relax a little. The most time-consuming part of making this meal was cutting the vegetables up which means this is a wonderful dish to make if you’re busy or tired.

6

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Thai Peanut Pasta

  1. Thai food is one of my favorite cuisines and this looks great! Have you ever tried curry? It’s another warm (and spicy!) flavor that is great with rice or pasta.

  2. Something else to try on your pasta is adding some raw bean sprouts (i don’t know what kind they are…the Asian ones..). I’ve been to Thailand twice and every meal that we had came with them on top. Sautéed tofu and green onion would also be good mix ins at the end! Those are by far my favorite accents in Thai food!

    • The recipe called for green onions but I’m not a huge onion fan. It also said you could garnish with Mung bean sprouts. Next time I’ll add the green onions and tofu though!

Have something to say?

