Back Again with Grandma’s Fudge

Well it’s been a whirlwind summer-to-fall season. A lot has happened between my last post and now including the passing of my mother, college graduation, the end of my internship on Hilton Head, moving back home to Alabama, and getting a job in Knoxville.

Since it’s almost Christmas, I figured I would make some cheery desserts. First on the list: Grandma’s fudge. Grandma (my mom’s mom) was an excellent cook and baker from what I’ve heard. When my Papa (her husband) passed away a few years ago, I was given the book she was published in. Yes, you read that right. Grandma’s recipe was published in a book – Farm Journal’s Choice Chocolate Recipes to be exact! Her copy has a letter from Farm Journal’s food editor as well as a picture of her with the book.

For this recipe you will need:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 – 15oz. can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 – 6oz. package semisweet chocolate chips (or 3/4 cup)
  • 1 – 6oz. package butterscotch chips (or 3/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • Candy thermometer

Combine the sugar, sweetened condensed milk, water, chocolate chips and butterscotch chips in a 3-quart saucepan. You could probably get away with a 2-quart saucepan, but once the chocolate starts bubbling as it gets hotter, it might be best to stick with the larger size.

Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until it reaches soft ball stage on a candy thermometer (234 degrees Fahrenheit). It takes a little time to get it to the perfect temperature, so make sure you aren’t hungry while you’re making this fudge. Otherwise you’ll want to drink the mixture straight out of the saucepan!

IMG_0483

Combine butter and vanilla in a mixing bowl. Pour the hot fudge mixture into the bowl and beat on high speed with an electric mixer until it starts to thicken.

Stir in the walnuts and spread into a greased 9-inch square pan.

Cool and cut into 1.5-inch squares, but try not to devour them immediately.

Making this fudge gave me some peace of mind. It’s always hard when you experience the first holiday season without a loved one. Whenever I would bake, mom would always tell me how proud Grandma would be of me if she were alive. That’s all I could think about while I was standing over the melting chocolate and butterscotch and it made me happy. I hope you enjoy this recipe and that you have fond family memories as well.

Have something to say?

