Throwback Thursday

First off, Merry Christmas!

Second, can I say how much I miss the beautiful warm weather I experienced while I was in the Bahamas?! I went on a study abroad trip in May 2013 to learn about different types of tourism. Let me tell you, it was a tough trip (wink, wink) and I loved every single minute of it. The great thing about the hospitality industry is that there is such a large variety of careers within the industry as well as numerous places in the world to work.

DSCN0520

While this cold weather has me feeling nostalgic, I figured I would share some pictures of the food we ate while in the Bahamas. I definitely plan on going back one day!

Conch fritters with mac n cheese

Conch fritters with mac n cheese at Bahamian Cooking Restaurant. The mac n cheese is slightly different from the American version. The Bahamian version is much more dense and rich in flavor and has a crusty top from being baked.

DSCN0120

DSCN0480

If you weren’t aware of what a conch is, the first picture is one hanging out of its shell at the Atlantis aquarium. The picture below it is a pile of empty conch shells. Conch are caught and a knife cuts through the top of the shell while the animal is pushed out to later be used for delicious foods.

Jamaican jerk chicken plantains rice and peas

Jamaican jerk chicken, fried plantains, and rice & peas at the Pepperpot Grill. I remember that jerk chicken being incredibly spicy! Granted, it doesn’t take a whole lot for food to be spicy to me since I don’t eat a lot of it… Regardless it was very good!

DSCN0160

Fruit punch made from fresh fruits. Hands down the best juice I’ve had and a nice cooling effect for the spicy jerk chicken.

IMG_0970

Greek salad and pita from Athena Cafe. If I remember correctly, they make their own pita bread and dressings.

IMG_0946

Probably everyone’s favorite place – Graycliff. This place was so cool! They had a hotel, a restaurant, a coffee and chocolate shop, and a cigar company. These are the many varieties of chocolates they had to offer. It was hard picking which ones to purchase!

IMG_1047

The chocolate dessert bar at Sandals Emerald Bay resort – yet another favorite. But really, how can you say no to chocolate?!

DSCN0301

Lastly is the hydroponic lettuce garden at Cape Eleuthera Institute. This place is almost 100% self-sustaining and that lettuce was delicious! It also piqued my interest since I minored in sustainability studies and was part of the Auburn chapter of Real Food Challenge.

My absolute favorite part of this trip was being able to immerse myself in another culture. Whenever you get a chance to do so, take it! It could be life-changing.

Have something to say?

