Packing on the Pounds

Pound cake that is.

Yesterday I was reading a book called A Place at the Table by Susan Rebecca White when one of the main character’s grandmother made a pound cake. Reading about it got me craving one, so I figured I would find a recipe in one of my many cookbooks and make my own. The first place I looked was my grandmother’s cookbook. Lo and behold, I found a recipe for pound cake!

In my excitement to make this cake, I didn’t read the directions all the way through – a very important aspect of cooking or baking – and once I separated the eggs, I discarded the yolks. DO NOT discard the yolks, people! Ever! Just in case you need them.

So once I realized my mistake, I had to buy more eggs at the store in order to make this cake. Here are the ingredients:

IMG_0721

  • 1lb. butter
  • 2 2/3 cups sugar, plus 6 Tbsp.
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 8 medium eggs (or 7 large eggs)
  • 8 Tbsp. coffee cream
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract

What’s really special about this recipe is that it’s written in Grandma’s handwriting in her cooking “bible”.

IMG_0720

First you’ll preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Next, separate the eggs and, I repeat, do NOT throw away the yolks!!

IMG_0726

Whip the egg whites.

IMG_0728

Gradually add 6 tablespoons of sugar while beating and store in the refrigerator.

IMG_0732

Cream the butter. Gradually add the 2 2/3 cups of sugar and whip until the mixture is light and fluffy.

IMG_0736

Add the egg yolks, two at a time, beating well after each addition. Be sure to scrape the bowl down occasionally to make sure everything is getting mixed well.

IMG_0739

Add the flour and cream and extracts alternately. I poured in some flour, mixed the batter, then poured in some of the cream and extract mixture, mixed the batter some more, and repeated the process until all of the flour had been added. While this was mixing, I went ahead and greased and floured a bundt pan, although the recipe calls for a tube pan.

IMG_0741

I may have been a little heavy-handed with the flour…

Whip the batter until it’s as light as possible.

IMG_0743

Fold in the egg whites.

IMG_0744

Add the your greased and floured pan and bake for an hour and 25 minutes, testing every five minutes thereafter. It may not take as long to bake since this recipe is pretty old, so be sure to check your cake after 45 minutes at the least so you don’t burn your cake like I did.

This is a fairly simple recipe and the texture and flavors are wonderful. Enjoy!

Have something to say?

